This is an archive of the UK Shapenote site from 11th January 2020

 United Kingdom Sacred Harp & Shapenote Singing
Front row altosFront row treblesHugh McGraw with the tenor line at DerbySophie MacDougall at Letchworth 2004Front row tenorsFront row basses and altos
Home Calendar All Conventions All-day singings Resources Contacts Europe Aus/NZ

Seacourt Hall, Botley, Oxford
Seacourt Hall
Oxford Minutes

1999   2000
2001   2002
2003   2004
2005   2006
2007   2008
2009   2010
2011   2012
2013   2014


Botley W I
Village Hall




The Nineteenth Annual
xford Sacred Harp Singing Day
Botley Women's Institute Hall
Saturday, 24 June 2017

The nineteenth Annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June.  Chairman Sheila Girling Macadam called the class to order at 10:00 am leading 34b, and Edwin Macadam offered the opening prayer.  The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman--Sheila Girling Macadam; Treasurer --Edwin Macadam; Secretaries--Rebecca Over and Rosemary Cooper; Arranging Committee--Nick Hall and Werner Ullah; Pitchers--Rachel Jordan, Steve Brett, Matthew Parkinson, and Michael Walker; Chaplains--Edwin Macadam, Rebecca Over, Michael Walker, Gill Cole and Mike Cooper.

Leaders: Edwin Macadam 371; Mandy Townsend 63; Dave Townsend 112; Werner Ullah 47t; Toby Goss 28b; Rachel Jordan 492; Michael Walker 131b; Deborah Mann 30t; Matthew Parkinson 31t; Rebecca Over 225t; Nick Hall 386; Sarah West 564; Joe Vickers 544; Margaret Gillanders 29t; Steve Brett 82t; Eli Petzold 101t; Ella Cumber 99.


Ted Brown brought the class back to order leading 391. Leaders: Claire Welford 171; Dilwyn Scott 40; Magna Nowak 268; Cäcilia Mann 172; Toby Goss 189; Sheila Girling Macadam 102; Michael Walker 297; Rebecca Over 530; Matthew Parkinson 541; Deborah Mann 84; Steve Brett 201; Rachel Jordan 353; Edwin Macadam 250; Sarah West 399b; Joe Vickers 401; Margaret Gillanders 314; Nick Hall 147t; Cäcilia Mann 442; Eli Petzold 74b; Claire Welford 475; Ted Brown 549; Werner Ullah 73b.


Ella Cumber brought the class back to order leading 144. Leaders: Toby Goss 178; Magna Nowak 313b; Michael Walker 369; Deborah Mann 274; Derek Buckland 288; Matthew Parkinson 426t.

Rebecca Over conducted both the Sick and Housebound Lesson, and the Memorial Lesson. Rebecca spoke of the measure of comfort from messages received from other singers for anyone unable to attend an event in person, either through ill health, or as a carer. We held the following in our thoughts: Nigel Cumber (Manilla, Phillippines), David Elliott (Lutterworth), Peter Sampson (Leamington Spa), Paula Mogensen (Billericay), Sofi Mogensen and John Taylor (both of High Wycombe). She led 32b in their names. In the Memorial Lesson, Rebecca paid tribute to the contribution Hugh McGraw had made to Sacred Harp singing for over 50 years, his funeral having taken place at Holly Springs, Bremen, GA, three weeks earlier.  We remembered the following: Hugh McGraw (GA, USA), Geneva Prichard (GA, USA), Calvin Phillips (AL, USA), Jackie Saunders (Eynsham), Charles Wells (MN, USA), Kathleen Evelyn Rowell (Lewes), Jimmy Baily (AL, USA), June Eames (Cubbington), Clare-Marie Grigg (Longworth) and Jean McDonald (Derby). Rebecca led 516 in their memory, and Michael Walker closed the Lessons with prayer. The class resumed singing with Cäcilia Mann leading 535. Leaders: Werner Ullah 501; Magna Nowak 29b; Sheila Girling Macadam 372; Nick Hall 143; Margaret Gillanders 500. Gill Cole offered thanks for the midday meal.


The afternoon session commenced with Edwin Macadam leading 464. Leaders: Sarah West 546; Rachel Jordan 318; Steve Brett 527; Ella Cumber 491; Joe Vickers 392; Ted Brown 229; Claire Welford 384; Eli Petzold 105; Sheila Girling Macadam 480; Michael Walker 528; Edwin Macadam 236; Rachel Jordan 269; Nick Hall 455; Deborah Mann 117; Werner Ullah 457; Rebecca Over 114; Sarah West 436; Matthew Parkinson 32t; Steve Brett 166; Ella Cumber 77t; Joe Vickers 348b; Magna Nowak 504; Margaret Gillanders and Sue Bird 534; Ted Brown 448b.


The final session commenced with Claire Welford and Isabelle Walker leading 299. Leaders: Sue Lanfear 163b;
Cäcilia Mann 361; Werner Ullah 49b; Rachel Jordan 208; Michael Walker 378t; Nick Hall 137; Sarah West 376; Rebecca Over (for Adrian Bolge, present at the singing, but who did not wish to lead) 107; Matthew Parkinson 76b; Derek Buckland 159; Steve Brett 511; Joe Vickers 313t.

The Secretaries reported 41 singers had registered from the UK, Ireland, and Germany and 96 songs had been led by 27 leaders. The Treasurer reported all the day's expenses had been met. Announcements of forthcoming singings were made. Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam thanked all the officers, committees and anyone who helped in any way to make this singing a success. It was agreed the 20th Annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day should be held at the Botley Women’s Institute Hall on Saturday 23 June 2018.

Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam led 347 as the closing song. Mike Cooper offered the closing prayer, after which the class was dismissed.

Chairman--Sheila Girling Macadam; Treasurer--Edwin Macadam; Secretaries--Rebecca Over and Rosemary Cooper.




This Web Site has been set up for the United Kingdom Sacred Harp and Shapenote Community in order to provide a resource centre for singing in the United Kingdom.  Any correspondence, helpful suggestions and contributions as to content, amendments, additions and new web links should be sent to      Contents of this website © 1998-2019 Edwin and Sheila Macadam, Oxford, United Kingdom.