This is an archive of the UK Shapenote site from 11th January 2020




 United Kingdom Sacred Harp & Shapenote Singing

Front row altosFront row treblesHugh McGraw with the tenor line at DerbySophie MacDougall at Letchworth 2004Front row tenorsFront row basses and altos

Home Calendar All Conventions All-day singings Resources Contacts Europe Aus/NZ
Goodshaw Church Minutes

Goodshaw Sacred Harp Day
Goodshaw Baptist Church

Saturday, 17  May 2013

The fourth Goodshaw Sacred Harp Day was held at Goodshaw Baptist Church, in the United Kingdom, on Saturday before the third Sunday in May.

Chris Brown began the day by leading 52t. Harry Sidebottom welcomed singers back to the church and said an opening prayer. Leaders: Chris Brown 28t; Judy Whiting 171; Helen Brown 32t; Jo Vickers 37b; Hannah Land 47t; Ted Brown 49b; Eimear O’Donovan 111b; Benny Ross 166b; Sarah West 39t; Sadhbh O’ Flynn 312; Phil Tyler 157; Mike Morrisroe 57; Michael Walker 531; Jude O’Neill 31t; Ruth Steggles 225t; Niamh O’Sullivan 81t; Nadine Wills 385b; Martin Boddy 148; Ronan O’Donovan 535; Cath Tyler 318; Ella Cumber 212; Fynn Titford-Mock 412


Chris called the class back with 38b for Maria Wallace. Leaders:  Hannah Land 392; Joe Vickers 474; Judy Whiting 54(GH); Josh Darby 504; Sarah West 546; Ted Brown 338; Eimear O’Donovan 187; Phil Tyler 68t; Sadhbh O’ Flynn 224; Mike Morrisroe 372; Cath Tyler 183; Jude O’Neill 86; Ella Cumber 181;  Fynn Titford-Mock 280. Ted Brown gave thanks for the noon meal.


Michael Walker called the class back to order and led 401. Leaders: Niamh O’Sullivan 299; Helen Brown 30b; Cath Saunt 122; Ruth Steggles 47b.  

Fynn Titford-Mock spoke for the sick and housebound: Joe Taylor, Pete Watkins, Kathy Armstrong, Seamus McGuigan, Maria Wallace, Bea Gilmore, Curtis Owen, Shirley Figura, Alan Jackson, Tammy Titford-Mock and Nigel Cumber. For them he led 330b. Benny Ross conducted the memorial lesson and read the names of the deceased: Rita Wolfenden (Oldham), Jack Lancashire (Oldham), Betty Bower (London) David Daykin (Nottingham), Eva Padgett (FL), Brenda Grimshaw (Southampton), Harold Newell (Dalton), Ann Beasley (AL), Bud Oliver (AL), Bufrey Dean (AL), Finbarr Kennedy (Cork), Niall Henderson  (Dublin), Jack O’Flynn (NY/Cork) and Diane Brisbourne (Holmfirth) For them he led 285t and said a prayer.


The class moved to Goodshaw Old Chapel, the oldest Baptist Chapel in the UK. There, in the singers’ pew, Hannah Land called the class to order leading 163t. Leaders: Joe Vickers 448t; Ronan O’Donovan 274t; Cath Saunt 270; Jude O’Neill 457; Mike Morrisroe 42; Sadhbh O’Flynn 522; Niamh O’Sullivan 89; Eimear O’Donovan 432; Nadine Wills 515; Josh Darby 209; Sarah West 542; Phil Tyler 217; Helen and Ted Brown 77t; Michael Walker 182.

Chris Brown and Judy Whiting led 323t. Helen Brown offered a closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

Chairman -- Chris Brown;

Secretaries -- John Copperwheat and Cath Ingham 


This Web Site has been set up for the United Kingdom Sacred Harp and Shapenote Community in order to provide a resource centre for singing in the United Kingdom.  Any correspondence, helpful suggestions and contributions as to content, amendments, additions and new web links should be sent to      Contents of this website © 1998-2019 Edwin and Sheila Macadam, Oxford, United Kingdom.